Forums  
[line_separator]
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Hottest Topics] Hottest Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to forum index 
I can't reinstall the sims 3, it keeps saying error.  XML
Forum Index » Technical Discussions (EN)
Author Message
AndreaKidd


Joined: 05/31/09 12:52 AM
Messages: 462
Location:Washington
Offline

So with all of the issues going on with the patch and generations and everything, I unstalled all the of expansion packs and stuff packs I own which is Late Night, Outdoor Living Stuff, and Generations.

I left my custom content and all it's files in place but also back them up some where else on my computer just in case I need to wipe everything clean. So I go to install the sims 3 and I keep getting am error.

It starts to install and stops at the C:/.../Electronic Arts/The Sims 3/Thumbnails/Cas Thumbnails.package and then I get a message saying

"File: E:/Thumbnails/Cas Thumbnails.package
Error: The request could not be performed because of an I/O device error"

What does this mean?


[URL=http://bit.ly/1ils5sQ]

[/URL]
Profile
AndreaKidd


Joined: 05/31/09 12:52 AM
Messages: 462
Location:Washington
Offline

Bump.

[URL=http://bit.ly/1ils5sQ]

[/URL]
Profile
simjett


Joined: 05/30/09 02:59 AM
Messages: 6074
Location:☺♥♦♣♠Texas Triangle ♪ ♫
Offline

Input / Output device is the DVD drive and there appears to be a problem transfering the file. Any kinds of smudges or scratches on the Sims disc can cause that error, as can a "dirty" DVD drive. My guess would be the disc, since you recently installed Generations and its many large files.

At the time of the error you can try removing - reinserting the Sims disc. That will sometimes get it going again.

Another option is to go into the "Device Manager" and remove \ uninstall \ delete the DVD drive. On the Device Manager menu there's an "Action" button \ detect hardware changes, to essentially detect and reinstall the DVD drivers.

Profile
AndreaKidd


Joined: 05/31/09 12:52 AM
Messages: 462
Location:Washington
Offline

simjett wrote:Input / Output device is the DVD drive and there appears to be a problem transfering the file. Any kinds of smudges or scratches on the Sims disc can cause that error, as can a "dirty" DVD drive. My guess would be the disc, since you recently installed Generations and its many large files.

At the time of the error you can try removing - reinserting the Sims disc. That will sometimes get it going again.

Another option is to go into the "Device Manager" and remove \ uninstall \ delete the DVD drive. On the Device Manager menu there's an "Action" button \ detect hardware changes, to essentially detect and reinstall the DVD drivers.


I have tried everything but I think it's my disk, there's a bump on it.

[URL=http://bit.ly/1ils5sQ]

[/URL]
Profile
SimGuru_BGY_11


Joined: 06/01/09 03:07 PM
Messages: 7503
Offline

Hi there.

You can contact Support via the Contact Us link at http://support.ea.com to discuss replacement or entitlement options.

Regards,

-Big Guy-

Profile
AndreaKidd


Joined: 05/31/09 12:52 AM
Messages: 462
Location:Washington
Offline

Thank you, I'm doing that right now.

[URL=http://bit.ly/1ils5sQ]

[/URL]
Profile
hailey4677


Joined: 10/03/10 06:25 PM
Messages: 2
Offline

Hi, another option i your disc is too dirty, you can clean it with toothpaste, but must wash it off very well. My Sims 3 game is doing the same ting because I recently installed my SIms 2 and uninstalled my Sims 3, but I just uninstalled Sims 2 and I'm reinstalling SIms 3. It's saying the error messages as well, but when I saw my disc might be dirty then I immedeatly cleaned it with toothpaste. You can tell it's clean because it's smooth, shiny, and squeaky. Hope this helped some what

~Hailey~
Profile
 
Forum Index » Technical Discussions (EN)
Go to: