Forums  
[line_separator]
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Hottest Topics] Hottest Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to forum index 
Help with requirements? (PLEASE ANSWER, REALLY confused)  XML
Forum Index » Pets
Author Message
adeal175x2


Joined: 06/14/09 07:23 PM
Messages: 165
Offline

I getting a new laptop that is going to be running windows 7
(I am currently windows XP, Laptop I am getting is HP Pavilion dv6-6176sa)

The site says the laptops processor is.............


intel® Core™ i3-2310M processor (2.1 GHz, 3 MB L3 cache)
The laptop has 4gb of memory and a Dedicated AMD Radeon HD 6490M - 1GB graphics card

Will the sims 3 run on this laptop?, it says windows 7 needs 2.4GH???????????
PLEASE ANSWER!! Thanks!!
Profile
cookiemonster88


Joined: 06/10/09 11:56 PM
Messages: 483
Offline

well i'm no expert but 2.1 is lower than 2.4...

so my answer is it may, but if you're getting a new laptop you might as well get one that's over and above the specs not below/barely meeting them.

Profile
SimAddict2009


Joined: 06/09/09 01:37 PM
Messages: 183
Offline

Hi I have a HP Pavilion mine is a DV6 3100sa.

AMD Athlon II P340 Dual-Core Processor 2.2 GHz.

My game runs quite well however if I were you I would get the best you can afford.

If I was buying a laptop now I personaly would go for a faster processor to be on the safe side.

Be sure to have at least 4gb memory and a dedicated supported graphics card is a must.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 10/30/11 02:38 PM

Profile
adeal175x2


Joined: 06/14/09 07:23 PM
Messages: 165
Offline

SimAddict2009 wrote:Hi I have a HP Pavilion mine is a DV6 3100sa.

AMD Athlon II P340 Dual-Core Processor 2.2 GHz.

My game runs quite well however if I were you I would get the best you can afford.

If I was buying a laptop now I personaly would go for a faster processor to be on the safe side.

Be sure to have at least 4gb memory and a dedicated supported graphics card is a must.


I'm not a computer exbert but can't the sims 3 use another processor or something? , Cos I read somewhere about Multiple-core's or something?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 10/30/11 03:32 PM

Profile
adeal175x2


Joined: 06/14/09 07:23 PM
Messages: 165
Offline

Does anyone Recommend a laptop??

My maximum spend is £500 (maybe just over)
Profile
corvusdei


Joined: 08/22/11 08:06 PM
Messages: 343

adeal175x2 wrote:I getting a new laptop that is going to be running windows 7
(I am currently windows XP, Laptop I am getting is HP Pavilion dv6-6176sa)

The site says the laptops processor is.............

intel® Core™ i3-2310M processor (2.1 GHz, 3 MB L3 cache)
The laptop has 4gb of memory and a Dedicated AMD Radeon HD 6490M - 1GB graphics card

Will the sims 3 run on this laptop?, it says windows 7 needs 2.4GH???????????
PLEASE ANSWER!! Thanks!!


OK, well, here are the system requirements...

https://help.ea.com/article/The-Sims-3-Pets-Minimum-System-Requ
irements


As you can see, all ATI HD cards are supported, so you're OK there.

The intel® Core™ i3-2310M is a dual-core processor, so even though its clockspeed is 2.1, it is more than equivalent to a 2.4 P4 processor. You're fine.

[edit: guh I suck at markup! ]

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 10/30/11 03:53 PM


Parrots can outlive people. Birds need a longer lifespan in this game! No more dead crows!
Profile
fallenangel19910


Joined: 06/06/09 05:01 AM
Messages: 4028
Location:melbourne, australia!
Offline

corvusdei wrote:
adeal175x2 wrote:I getting a new laptop that is going to be running windows 7
(I am currently windows XP, Laptop I am getting is HP Pavilion dv6-6176sa)

The site says the laptops processor is.............

intel® Core™ i3-2310M processor (2.1 GHz, 3 MB L3 cache)
The laptop has 4gb of memory and a Dedicated AMD Radeon HD 6490M - 1GB graphics card

Will the sims 3 run on this laptop?, it says windows 7 needs 2.4GH???????????
PLEASE ANSWER!! Thanks!!


OK, well, here are the system requirements...

https://help.ea.com/article/The-Sims-3-Pets-Minimum-System-Requ
irements


As you can see, all ATI HD cards are supported, so you're OK there.

The intel® Core™ i3-2310M is a dual-core processor, so even though its clockspeed is 2.1, it is more than equivalent to a 2.4 P4 processor. You're fine.

[edit: guh I suck at markup! ]


you said exactly what I was going to say lol

Profile
corvusdei


Joined: 08/22/11 08:06 PM
Messages: 343

fallenangel19910 wrote:
corvusdei wrote:
adeal175x2 wrote:I getting a new laptop that is going to be running windows 7
(I am currently windows XP, Laptop I am getting is HP Pavilion dv6-6176sa)

The site says the laptops processor is.............

intel® Core™ i3-2310M processor (2.1 GHz, 3 MB L3 cache)
The laptop has 4gb of memory and a Dedicated AMD Radeon HD 6490M - 1GB graphics card

Will the sims 3 run on this laptop?, it says windows 7 needs 2.4GH???????????
PLEASE ANSWER!! Thanks!!


OK, well, here are the system requirements...

https://help.ea.com/article/The-Sims-3-Pets-Minimum-System-Requ
irements


As you can see, all ATI HD cards are supported, so you're OK there.

The intel® Core™ i3-2310M is a dual-core processor, so even though its clockspeed is 2.1, it is more than equivalent to a 2.4 P4 processor. You're fine.

[edit: guh I suck at markup! ]


you said exactly what I was going to say lol


You think I suck at markup too?! *heheheheh*

Seriously though, I just hope he sees it before he goes out and buys another laptop!

Parrots can outlive people. Birds need a longer lifespan in this game! No more dead crows!
Profile
adeal175x2


Joined: 06/14/09 07:23 PM
Messages: 165
Offline


I've been looking some more + I saw this laptop (http://www.pcworld.co.uk/gbuk/hewletpack-pavilion-g6-1247sa-15-
6-laptop-red-11290986-pdt.html
)

IT says it has 6gb of RAM, Intel® Core™ i3-370M (2.4GHz, 1333 MHz FSB, 3 MB L3 cache)
But the graphics card is Intel HD up to 1.92 GB, is this good or bad?

Sorry for being annoying

Profile
adeal175x2


Joined: 06/14/09 07:23 PM
Messages: 165
Offline

Bump? , I'm getting it Wednesday
Profile
adeal175x2


Joined: 06/14/09 07:23 PM
Messages: 165
Offline

Bump

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 10/30/11 09:15 PM

Profile
TanyaRubirose


Joined: 02/02/11 05:38 AM
Messages: 12590
Location:In the sasscave, shining the sassmobile.

adeal175x2 wrote:
I've been looking some more + I saw this laptop (http://www.pcworld.co.uk/gbuk/hewletpack-pavilion-g6-1247sa-15-
6-laptop-red-11290986-pdt.html
)

IT says it has 6gb of RAM, Intel® Core™ i3-370M (2.4GHz, 1333 MHz FSB, 3 MB L3 cache)
But the graphics card is Intel HD up to 1.92 GB, is this good or bad?

Sorry for being annoying



Hmm...

Get the other one. While that video card could handle it, it's at greater risk of burning out.

Profile
corvusdei


Joined: 08/22/11 08:06 PM
Messages: 343

TanyaRubirose wrote:
adeal175x2 wrote:
I've been looking some more + I saw this laptop (http://www.pcworld.co.uk/gbuk/hewletpack-pavilion-g6-1247sa-15-
6-laptop-red-11290986-pdt.html
)

IT says it has 6gb of RAM, Intel® Core™ i3-370M (2.4GHz, 1333 MHz FSB, 3 MB L3 cache)
But the graphics card is Intel HD up to 1.92 GB, is this good or bad?

Sorry for being annoying



Hmm...

Get the other one. While that video card could handle it, it's at greater risk of burning out.


Listen to the unicorn. This one is always saying very wise things.

Parrots can outlive people. Birds need a longer lifespan in this game! No more dead crows!
Profile
BearCameron


Joined: 06/07/09 02:43 PM
Messages: 42
Location:Corby, Northamptonshire
Offline

Hello

adeal175x2 Did the sims 3 run okay???



Always want more friends
Profile
LittleV


Joined: 06/05/09 03:45 AM
Messages: 8522
Offline

BearCameron wrote:Hello

adeal175x2 Did the sims 3 run okay???


This topic is 3 months old, so I doubt the OP will remember to check the topic.

Profile
 
Forum Index » Pets
Go to: