Forums  
[line_separator]
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Hottest Topics] Hottest Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to forum index 
Code but lost CD ?  XML
Forum Index » Technical Discussions (EN)
Author Message
mandy1009


Joined: 03/11/12 11:13 PM
Messages: 1
Offline

My Sims 3 disk got trapped in my computer that broke.. i still have the booklet with my code on it , can EA give me a digital download for it if i tell them my code ? & plus i bought sims 2 expansion packs last week im not intrested in , can i do an equal trade in for sims 3 expansion packs ??
Profile
Nichaedemus


Joined: 06/14/09 02:52 AM
Messages: 15559
Location:North America

Hi,

Does the DVD drive have a manual release mechanism with which to free the game disc?

If you have a PC running Microsoft Windows, you can use your disc serial code to redeem a digital download version of the game from the EA Store at no cost to you. This is made possible through the Origin download manager client. To register the game through Origin you will need to proceed to the following page:

https://activate.ea.com/applyentitlement.do

The latest version of the Origin client can be downloaded from the following link:

http://origin.com/download

Before installing the digital download game, you will need to uninstall the disc version of that game first, if it is currently installed. For any problems with code redemption you may contact Support via the following page:

https://help.ea.com/connect-with-us

Need assistance with The Sims 3? Visit the Master Help Thread today!
Profile
Yahtzami


Joined: 06/02/09 01:30 PM
Messages: 6526
Location:Second Star to the Right, Straight On 'Til Morning
Offline

Nevermind...Nichaedemus beat me to it! LOL

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 03/11/12 11:24 PM


Profile
Lozierdawg21


Joined: 03/11/12 07:06 PM
Messages: 1
Offline

Grr I lost my Sims 3 disc so I was wondering the same thing. So I went to Origin, signed in to the account with my Sims 3 access code in it, but whenever I've tried to start the game engine it will tell me I need the disc !?

Anyways around this would be great because this would be my 3rd time buying Sims 3 if this doesn't work.
Profile
Yahtzami


Joined: 06/02/09 01:30 PM
Messages: 6526
Location:Second Star to the Right, Straight On 'Til Morning
Offline

Lozierdawg21 wrote:Grr I lost my Sims 3 disc so I was wondering the same thing. So I went to Origin, signed in to the account with my Sims 3 access code in it, but whenever I've tried to start the game engine it will tell me I need the disc !?

Anyways around this would be great because this would be my 3rd time buying Sims 3 if this doesn't work.


You have to uninstall the game you have on your computer because that is the one you used the disc to install so it will want the disc to launch. You need to download and reinstall the game using the digi version that you unlocked.
Profile
OrchidSunset


Joined: 03/27/10 12:53 PM
Messages: 5
Offline

What if you have a Mac? I'm trying to do the same thing, but having trouble. I deleted Late Night because I couldn't find the disk and wanted to play, but then I found my code and am trying to find a download so I can use my code and play
Profile
bob007


Joined: 06/02/09 08:05 PM
Messages: 9807
Location:Chicago
Offline

OrchidSunset - Welcome to the forums. I think Origin will work on a MAC with boot camp.

Profile
OrchidSunset


Joined: 03/27/10 12:53 PM
Messages: 5
Offline

How do I get boot camp? Because Origin doesn't work directly on Macs (which I think EA should really work on, since they sell Mac games now)
Profile
OrchidSunset


Joined: 03/27/10 12:53 PM
Messages: 5
Offline

Ok, I found boot camp and am going to see fi I can figure it out. I'll post again if I need more help. Thanks!
Profile
OrchidSunset


Joined: 03/27/10 12:53 PM
Messages: 5
Offline

I don't have a Windows disk- what do I do now?
Profile
Nichaedemus


Joined: 06/14/09 02:52 AM
Messages: 15559
Location:North America

Hi OrchidSunset,

Running Boot Camp does require purchasing a copy of Microsoft WIndows. If this is not an option for you, the alternative is to contact the EA Warranty Department and make a request for a replacement game disc:

https://help.ea.com/article/electronic-arts-warranty-policy

Even if the warranty has expired for your product it is still worth trying to contact them, since the cost of replacement is still minimal compared to buying another copy of the game.

Need assistance with The Sims 3? Visit the Master Help Thread today!
Profile
deangelis3


Joined: 06/20/12 06:50 PM
Messages: 3
Offline

im having a bit of a problem too. my sister and i bought Sims 3 a few months ago and knowing us we lost it but i have the key and it is already installed on my computer. the game wont run without the disk but we dont have it. where can i dolnload a copy of the game that doesnt need te disk? from EA or Origin?
Profile
bob007


Joined: 06/02/09 08:05 PM
Messages: 9807
Location:Chicago
Offline

deangelis3 - You have to redeem the disc code and then download the game/pack from Origin. You will need to uninstall the disc version and install the download version as the drm is different. The download version has SecuROM.

to redeem code - https://activate.ea.com/applyentitlement.do - this should enable the download version in Origin.

Profile
slaer806


Joined: 06/21/12 09:21 PM
Messages: 2
Offline

I have a similar problem i bought sims 3 deluxe a long time ago and i installed it on my laptop, my laptop broke and i never unistalled it and the base game disc is unusable
am i going to have to buy a new copy of sims??
Profile
slaer806


Joined: 06/21/12 09:21 PM
Messages: 2
Offline

Thanks i solved the problem i now have sims 3 i downloaded origin/ea download manager for spore and i figured out i could download my sims 3... thanks for the help
Profile
 
Forum Index » Technical Discussions (EN)
Go to: