Forums  
[line_separator]
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Hottest Topics] Hottest Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to forum index 
Icon but no launcher! - MAC  XML
Post Reply Forum Index » Mac Discussions
Author Message
EmilyLouisexo


Joined: 06/06/09 11:00 AM
Messages: 32
Offline

Wondering if anyone can help me. Yesterday I bought my very first mac so I'm a newbie! So anyway I installed my sims fine and everything but when I download from the exchange, my launcher won't open but the icon is there. Does anyone know how I can fix this? Like I said I'm new to macs! Thank you!!!


Also - The icon is freezing and I can't quit it, so I cannot turn the computer off, other than using a force quit.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 05/02/12 04:04 PM


Profile
lilyb17


Joined: 10/24/10 11:19 PM
Messages: 1
Offline

I have a similar problem! i just installed sims 3 on my macbook pro and now when i click to open it, the icon just bounces on my dock then disappears. Anyone know how to fix this??
Profile
EmilyLouisexo


Joined: 06/06/09 11:00 AM
Messages: 32
Offline

Anyone?

Profile
Nabooandmaxarecute


Joined: 02/22/11 08:06 PM
Messages: 6
Offline

I've never had this problem, but I use to not be able to download from the exchange.
Try forcequitting the launcher if it doesn't respond within 5 minutes, then restart your computer. If it still isn't working, go to you finder, then documents, electronic arts, the sims 3 and check for a file with the word launcher in it. If it isn't there, then you have a problem! Sometimes sims just acts up, You could try re-installing if all hope in humanity has disappeared.
Profile
cutie9676


Joined: 07/19/09 08:52 PM
Messages: 119
Online

It's the cc i'm not against cc but from the exchage is like playing with a gun. Try this http://forum.thesims3.com/jforum/posts/list/234888.page and this link too this is what i use when i have this problem http://sims3.crinrict.com/en/2011/01/tutorial-how-to-get-rid-of
-unwanted-custom-content.html
go down to the section where they talk about your DCCache folder. Or just follow this:
*not mines
First you can try this method by Mell

Make a backup of your DCCache folder (if anything doesn’t go as expected)
Move all files *.dbc to your desktop
Move dcdb0.dbc back to your DCCache folder
Start the Launcher
Go to Installed Content and uninstall everything you don’t want anymore
Close the Launcher
Remove the dcdb0.dbc file from the DCCache and store it in a safe place.
Move the dcdb1.dbc in the DCCache and rename it to dcdb0.dbc.
Start the launcher and proceed with step 5 and 6 again.
Rename dcdb0.dbc back to dcdb1.dbc and store it also at that safe place
Do this for every DBC file in the DCCache Folder. Make sure to rename the files to their original name.
Once your done, move the cleaned files back to your DCCache folder and you’re done.
You can then try deleting the missingdeps.idx if that does not work, you will need to remove all files *.dbc. Move the files to your desktop (don’t delete). This will remove everything except Store Items, Houses/Households and Sims. Check your game if the CC is now gone.
Profile
EmilyLouisexo


Joined: 06/06/09 11:00 AM
Messages: 32
Offline

I have it working now I re-installed it about 1000 times but the last time after installing a game, I started up the game, that seemed to have fixed the problem.

Profile
 
Post Reply Forum Index » Mac Discussions
Go to: