Forums  
[line_separator]
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Hottest Topics] Hottest Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to forum index 
How do I add custom content without the launcher?  XML
Post Reply Forum Index » Mac Discussions
Author Message
elphabasims


Joined: 07/05/11 11:31 PM
Messages: 91
Offline

I downloaded some custom content from Sims Resource and after installing some of the content my launcher stopped working. It wouldn't even show up. So, I've been opening my game with TS3. Everything works fine all the content is there. The problem is, I still have some content I want to put in the game, but I can't install it without the launcher.

I've tried following from this site [http://slinkyscrap.wordpress.com/sims-3-custom-content-sites/
how-to-install-custom-content/], but it's not working. (I think it's because the article is a few years old.) Is there another way to add custom content?
Profile
KarinL


Joined: 06/03/09 01:42 PM
Messages: 3599
Offline

Other than the fact that the article uses and obsolete method to install content, it's also a method that is used for installing content in package files.
Besides which, it talks about how to install package files through the old method, in a game that has no Expansion Packs installed at all.

Unfortunately, if you are trying to install content that is supposed to go in the launcher, like from TSR (files that are in .Sims3Pack format), then you do need the launcher, and there's no way around it.

There are no utilities for a Mac that will let you strip packages out of Sims3Pack files that I know of.


If you want to install package file content, you need to use the new method. There are instructions for Windows on MTS, which you can follow for your Mac as well - since you have the same Electronic Arts/The Sims 3 folder in your "Documents" as Windows users have.
http://www.modthesims.info/wiki.php?title=Game_Help:TS3_CC_Basi
cs
Profile
elphabasims


Joined: 07/05/11 11:31 PM
Messages: 91
Offline

My CCs are .Sim3Pack. Darn, now my sims are stuck with ugly(ish) furniture and the same haircuts.
Profile
beaglelover2008


Joined: 01/15/10 11:44 PM
Messages: 5133
Location:wtf brag

There's a way to change them.

Cera13 wrote:This is so ridiculously easy you will never install cc as a sims3pack again!

First thing is to download Delphy's Sims 3 Pack Multi Extracter at MTS *here*

The tool requires the sims3pack to be in a folder to be extracted. Technically you could use your downloads folder, but if yours is a mess like mine and full of everything you've downloaded since you got your computer than you might find it easier to created a folder to move the files to after they are downloaded. Mine is hanging out in mydocuments and labeled sims3packs. You will also need a place for the extracted (package files) to end up. I find that my mods folder works perfectly well for this.

When you download something you want to change, just move it from your downloads folder into the folder you created for your sims3packs.

Now to the fun part!

Open the Extractor, and you'll get this screen.



Step 1 - this is the folder you created for your sims3packs.

Step 2 - this is the folder you want your package files to end up in (mods folder).

Check the box on the bottom or else your packages will be labeled a bunch of numbers and letters instead of the item's name, then proceed to step 3.

Step 3 - click install I'm not going to explain that one

Then it's done, that's it! Once you have your folders set, they will stay unless you change them.

Anyhow this is a safe way to use CC if you are like me )and love it) but you don't want to take the chance of having it being bad and attaching it to uploads. It also makes it much easier to move in and out of your game as needed.


Big thanks to Cera13 from TSS! (I didn't write this, of course)
Profile
beaglelover2008


Joined: 01/15/10 11:44 PM
Messages: 5133
Location:wtf brag

Hope you find your thread.
Profile
KarinL


Joined: 06/03/09 01:42 PM
Messages: 3599
Offline

Did you get that to run in Mono? I never managed. I did eventually get Delphy's other programs (Custard and Dashboard) to run, but never the extracter...
Profile
RonRebel_Sim


Joined: 02/11/11 09:38 PM
Messages: 24
Location:Canada
Offline

beaglelover2008 wrote:There's a way to change them.

Cera13 wrote:This is so ridiculously easy you will never install cc as a sims3pack again!

First thing is to download Delphy's Sims 3 Pack Multi Extracter at MTS *here*

The tool requires the sims3pack to be in a folder to be extracted. Technically you could use your downloads folder, but if yours is a mess like mine and full of everything you've downloaded since you got your computer than you might find it easier to created a folder to move the files to after they are downloaded. Mine is hanging out in mydocuments and labeled sims3packs. You will also need a place for the extracted (package files) to end up. I find that my mods folder works perfectly well for this.

When you download something you want to change, just move it from your downloads folder into the folder you created for your sims3packs.

Now to the fun part!

Open the Extractor, and you'll get this screen.



Step 1 - this is the folder you created for your sims3packs.

Step 2 - this is the folder you want your package files to end up in (mods folder).

Check the box on the bottom or else your packages will be labeled a bunch of numbers and letters instead of the item's name, then proceed to step 3.

Step 3 - click install I'm not going to explain that one

Then it's done, that's it! Once you have your folders set, they will stay unless you change them.

Anyhow this is a safe way to use CC if you are like me )and love it) but you don't want to take the chance of having it being bad and attaching it to uploads. It also makes it much easier to move in and out of your game as needed.


Big thanks to Cera13 from TSS! (I didn't write this, of course)


I did this because my custom content stopped installed the normal way... but what about the CC you already installed using the game launcher?

Profile
 
Post Reply Forum Index » Mac Discussions
Go to: