Forums  
[line_separator]
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Hottest Topics] Hottest Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to forum index 
My game keeps crashing when trying to save!  XML
Post Reply Forum Index » Mac Discussions
matthewriley

Hey everyone!

I've been experiencing this problem for a couple months now. I first experienced it a few months ago, didn't care too much, stopped playing the game, hoping an update would come out and fix the issue. When an update finally did come out, I started playing again, but the crashing still took place. I have talked to multiple EA support people online, via email, and thru phone. I have removed cider and preference files, cleared cache, renamed backups, repaired permissions, uninstalled and reinstalled the game on multiple admin accounts, played in windowed mode, and shut down all other processes while playing, still, nothing fixes the issue. The strange part is that sometimes I can save, and sometimes I cannot. Most recently, I thought the issue was fixed when I was able to save 4 times, but on the 5th, it crashed. Has anyone else been experiencing these weird crashes during saving?! Has anyone found a solution? This is very disheartening because I've been playing this same game for 3 years now. I do not want to lose it, or be forced to stop playing/start a new game. Is there any way for me to debug myself? Look at the crash logs, and try to see what might be causing the issue? Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

-Matt
rainstormed

What are the specs of your Mac? How big is your save file? If I'm remembering correctly crashing when saving usually has to do with ram,

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 05/16/12 03:16 AM

matthewriley

I have 16 GB of RAM.
rainstormed

Ah, then probably not a RAM problem. How large is your save file? Is it just affecting one save, or is it all of them?

Also do you use any third party CC or mods?
matthewriley