Forums  
[line_separator]
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Hottest Topics] Hottest Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to forum index 
Save Issues with Supernatural and Seasons CAW: Discussion and research thread.  XML
Forum Index » Create a World
Author Message
tea_and_blues


Joined: 06/12/09 01:00 AM
Messages: 912
Location:Niua Simoa, Pasimfic Ocean
Offline

A lot of people have noticed some serious issues with the recent versions of CAW, but all the information has been turning up on separate threads. Let's bring it all together in one place and look for common issues and possible causes.

The most widespread and recent issue seems to be Edit In Game (EIG) mode deleting lots upon saving. Common threads are problems with saving, with EIG, and with lots.

Notably, during all this mess, CAW's version has gone back a number.

July's CAW was 1.18.3. Since then the numbers have gone 1.18.3 -> 1.19.3 -> 1.18.4 -> then a silent update to 1.18.5



Reference Threads

CAW update is deleting all my lots
Read only lots + insufficient memory
1.42 and CAW. Does it work?
What is that? Is that a light?
Save failed...
CAW says save unsuccessful in Edit in Game Mode...
Another issue with the new update
worked FOREVER on something, saved it, then go back to CAW and it's not there?
Save Successful - BUT WITH WARNINGS



Symptoms

  • Specific world files (that worked on previous CAW versions) no longer open.

  • Specific world files (that worked on previous CAW versions) open but crash EIG mode.

  • World saves successfully in CAW but with error messages claiming some lots are set as read-only. Tells users to make these lots writable.

  • World saves successfully in EIG but deletes lots. Lots may or may not appear in CAW despite being deleted, perhaps due to caching, but are gone in EIG. Seems to affect all world files.

  • Exported worlds do not install. The launcher says they have installed, but they do not appear in the InstalledWorlds folder.




  • Workarounds

    Currently it is possible for many of us to keep working on a world, it is just tricky. Many creators are finding that minimising Edit In Game's second loading screen, then letting the game load minimised, allows them to access Edit In Game without crashing.

    Exporting your world will produce a simpack with all your files intact inside it, but the simpack will not be readable. The only way to install a world right now is to use the method anetherron provides here.

    This message was edited 14 times. Last update was at 12/18/12 06:22 AM


    Profile
    tea_and_blues


    Joined: 06/12/09 01:00 AM
    Messages: 912
    Location:Niua Simoa, Pasimfic Ocean
    Offline

    If you are affected, post some details about your system and your world file, just in case. If necessary we'll start collecting up dxdiag, but right now I'm curious if any of these symptoms correlates to something like the size of world files at all. I'm curious why certain files are affected but not others.

    Kiwi_tea

    OS: Windows 7 64bit
    Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 965, 3.40 GHz
    RAM: 8GB
    Video Card: ATI Radeon HD 4890, 1024 MB
    Your CAW is LAA: Yes

    Affected world files: 1 + all its back ups (16 files in all).
    World file size: c.73 MB
    CC: Matrix54's floor tiles, not yet publicly distributed. Uninstalled during testing, with caches cleared.
    Symptoms: 5 lots labelled read-only when the world is saved. Crashes on loading EIG. Happens on both SN and Seasons versions of CAW.

    Navazzah

    OS: Windows 7 64bit
    Processor: Intel Core2 Duo CPU E8400 3.00GHz
    RAM: 8GB
    Video Card: ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series
    Your CAW is LAA: Yes

    Affected world files: 1 + backups
    World file size: 70.2 MB
    CC: Yes, some, but also tried without them.

    ellacharm3d

    OS: Windows 7 64bit
    Processor: Intel Core i7 950 @ 3.06 GHz
    RAM: 6GB
    Video Card: AMD Radeon HD 7850, 2048 MB
    Your CAW is LAA: Yes
    CAW version: 1.16.2
    Game version: 1.34

    Psiychan

    My computer is about: 4 to 5 years old
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit (was updated to this OS last year)
    Processor: Amd Atlon Le-1620 Processor 2.40 Ghz
    RAM: 2 GB
    Video Card: Nvida Geforce 8200
    Your CAW is LAA: Not sure
    CAW version: 1.18.4.019037
    Game version: 1.42

    Sinkala

    OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
    Processor: AMD FX-4100 Quad Core 3.60 GHz
    RAM: 8 gb
    Video Card: Nvidia GeForce GT 440
    Your CAW is LAA: Yes
    CAW Version: 1.18.4.019037
    Game Versions: 1.42

    File size: 27mb
    CC-Patterns only

    This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 11/02/12 08:15 AM


    Profile
    carla70


    Joined: 06/30/09 12:29 PM
    Messages: 513
    Offline

    I just tried to download CAW on my new Win 8 install. Win 8 flagged the file as possible harmful to my computer. I downloaded the Creat pattern and it shows its fine.
    Profile
    SimsDream


    Joined: 05/16/09 08:25 PM
    Messages: 10
    Location:France
    Offline

    My mainly problem with the tool is the saving, once the lots made, I go back to the tool but any lots appear. If you placed trees in the game you will see in the tool after like the effects.

    Profile
    Navazzah


    Joined: 11/23/10 11:06 PM
    Messages: 154
    Offline

    Problem: 17 read-only lots + EIG crashing. (I'm Varpunen from MTS2)


    OS: Windows 7 64bit
    Processor: Intel Core2 Duo CPU E8400 3.00GHz
    RAM: 8GB
    Video Card: ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series
    Your CAW is LAA: Yes


    Affected world files: 1 + backups
    World file size: 70.2 MB
    CC: Yes, some, but also tried without them.

    This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 10/31/12 12:47 PM

    Profile
    happyscrub


    Joined: 08/20/12 02:42 PM
    Messages: 78
    Offline

    System specs - will post later. got to edit out IP address

    I've repeatedly failed something I've done 100 times before. I've been trying to place 2 community lots and 4 residential lots using both pre-built game lots and stuff I copied from starlight shores.

    1. Open up Caw
    2. Place what ever roads I need
    3. EIG
    4. Draw empty lots
    5. Place pre-built lots on empty lots
    6. Save and exit EIG
    7. Find out that all my lots are gone. Every single one, even the ones I built before.

    This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 10/31/12 04:11 PM

    Profile
    Simfan281


    Joined: 05/16/09 09:33 PM
    Messages: 76
    Location:Near to Everglades

    Very Annoying it happen as well to Regular user Myself, I reload the backup copy thought I forgotten to save, to I got here Saw this thread it was Edit-In-Game issue of Yes, Save issue I made really nice world for myself for new Seasons Coming Soon, I hope this can be solve with CreateAWorld Patch. I had try to reinstall CAW, uninstall CAW all lots are not saving as hardcopy Yep it is Major Save Bug with the Season Patch Update. I guess Update was to Early? I Pre-Order HardCopy of NoneDigital-Seasons DVD I will try CAW next update in Future I hope they read this.
    Support: Welcome to EA! My name is Support, how can I help you today?
    you: Yea as Community where having issue Create-A-World Tool 3rd Party Tool for Sims 3... We made a bug thread can you make a note.
    you: With the new Seasons Update.
    you: I have the thread.
    Support: Sure, let me take a look at it.
    you: http://forum.thesims3.com/jforum/posts/list/604830.page#9698926

    you: Some reason everyone having WideSpread issue.
    Support: I do apologize for all of this, just one moment while I read over this.
    you: Ok Sims 3 Team should make a note for next Update.
    you: You can do that for them.
    Support: I'll definitely file this in to report a bug. It's very likely that since this thread has been created, the studio is being made aware of it, but I'm sending it up just in case.
    you: Ok thanks Support and Community as well!
    Support: Absolutely! Thank you so much for contacting us, I hope you have a great day.

    E.G. I remove Supporter Name for Privacy Issues..

    This message was edited 8 times. Last update was at 10/31/12 06:36 PM


    Profile
    charliecat1


    Joined: 06/26/10 04:24 PM
    Messages: 23
    Offline

    accidently started a new thread about a problem i was having before i saw this but i dont know how to delete the thread i made

    but i've defo been having problems with what everyone seems to be getting also with lots disapearing after u saved it in edit game
    and my world failing to put into my game

    lets hope they fix it i cant wait to play the world i just made for seasons

    This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 10/31/12 06:52 PM

    Profile
    AngelJaz1


    Joined: 08/14/09 07:09 PM
    Messages: 49
    Location:Germany
    Offline

    grrr. jup same problem for me

    putting in all my houses and community lots..partly builded them in EIG.. (gladly i always saved those with EXPORT)...save...EIG end...= Map = Blank

    sadly hours working on it for nothing...

    but glad..it seems it wasnt my fault^^.

    ah..i wish i wouldnt have patched my game today (and reinstalled CAW.

    hopefully they can fix this soon

    Visit my Sims 3 Side:
    http://sinfonias-sims-world.blogspot.de/
    FB: https://www.facebook.com/engel.sim.7
    Profile
    Simfan281


    Joined: 05/16/09 09:33 PM
    Messages: 76
    Location:Near to Everglades

    AngelJaz1 wrote:grrr. jup same problem for me

    putting in all my houses and community lots..partly builded them in EIG.. (gladly i always saved those with EXPORT)...save...EIG end...= Map = Blank

    sadly hours working on it for nothing...

    but glad..it seems it wasnt my fault^^.

    ah..i wish i wouldnt have patched my game today (and reinstalled CAW.

    hopefully they can fix this soon

    I already File Bug Report hopes everyone gets a Update few days.

    Support: Welcome to EA! My name is Support, how can I help you today?
    you: Yea as Community where having issue Create-A-World Tool 3rd Party Tool for Sims 3... We made a bug thread can you make a note.
    you: With the new Seasons Update.
    you: I have the thread.
    Support: Sure, let me take a look at it.
    you: http://forum.thesims3.com/jforum/posts/list/604830.page#9698926


    you: Some reason everyone having WideSpread issue.
    Support: I do apologize for all of this, just one moment while I read over this.
    you: Ok Sims 3 Team should make a note for next Update.
    you: You can do that for them.
    Support: I'll definitely file this in to report a bug. It's very likely that since this thread has been created, the studio is being made aware of it, but I'm sending it up just in case.
    you: Ok thanks Support and Community as well!
    Support: Absolutely! Thank you so much for contacting us, I hope you have a great day.

    This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 10/31/12 07:04 PM


    Profile
    snowdustmelody


    Joined: 09/24/11 06:48 PM
    Messages: 114

    Mine doesn't save in EIG and when I try to go back to do it again EIG stops working and crashes...

    Profile
    littlememe


    Joined: 12/03/10 12:26 PM
    Messages: 16
    Offline

    hello had both, lots deleted after running EIG. and exported world not installing even though launcher says it has. world previously installed, before patch. updated it for SN now wont install.
    Profile
    Simfan281


    Joined: 05/16/09 09:33 PM
    Messages: 76
    Location:Near to Everglades

    Yea it is Widespread Issue with (EIG)Game Bug, I have file this Thread to Support about Mid Day today let's hope for a fix. I help you guys they treat this Thread a Game Bug we will wait.

    This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 10/31/12 10:00 PM


    Profile
    simtweek


    Joined: 05/29/09 10:15 AM
    Messages: 284
    Offline

    I've been having these problems:

    Specific world files (that worked on previous CAW versions) open but crash EIG mode.

    World saves successfully in CAW but with error messages claiming some lots are set as read-only. Tells users to make these lots writable.

    Exported worlds do not install. The launcher says they have installed, but they do not appear in the InstalledWorlds folder.

    This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 11/02/12 12:05 AM


    Profile
    ellacharm3d


    Joined: 06/20/09 04:57 AM
    Messages: 74
    Offline

    OS: Windows 7 64bit
    Processor: Intel Core i7 950 @ 3.06 GHz
    RAM: 6GB
    Video Card: AMD Radeon HD 7850, 2048 MB
    Your CAW is LAA: Yes
    CAW version: 1.16.2
    Game version: 1.34

    I learned that CAW 1.18.4 (patch 1.42) is LAA-aware out-of-the-box, but the earlier ones are all manually modified to be LAA.

    What problems I've encountered:
  • Work saved is not retained when next load a CAW wip .world file (from CAW ver 1.18.3 onwards), after program is restarted (see last issue)
  • Save always end up with failures, Save As also the same, but the lines show the successful message for the individual layers, which is supported by the folder showing the layers having the correct timestamp of the last Save action.
  • Same missing lots when Saving in CAW 1.18.4 as others
  • EIG crashing, from CAW ver 1.18.3 onwards
  • After Save As, (yes with errors reported), and closing the world file, reopening any other .world file would result in a crash with the protected memory error message. Always need to Exit and relaunch CAW. This never happens when I last used CAW extensively back in April


  • What I've tried, and nothing seems to work, above issues still happened:
    With the reports coming in with the 1.42 patch, I've done several uninstalls to rollback to older versions. Here's the result.
  • uninstalled and rollback both the game and CAW to
  • 1. 1.39/1.19.3
    2. 1.36/1.18.3
    3. 1.34/1.16.2
  • Started over from scratch to rule out borked saves as root cause
  • Used "SuperCaw"
  • Used the Unlocker tool to use direct Save with a "successful" report, but changes is still not guaranteed as retained on next load, and most of the time is not retained anyways


  • I'm tired of dealing with this since Mon and need a break. My next troubleshooting step is to continue on to rollback to game version 1.33 and CAW 1.16.2; maybe at the weekend. Just hoping my results above is able to let the devs know where to start looking...


    Profile
     
    Forum Index » Create a World
    Go to: