Forums  
[line_separator]
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Hottest Topics] Hottest Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to forum index 
How Is This Card?  XML
Forum Index » Technical Discussions (EN)
Author Message
butterfly61


Joined: 06/04/09 10:24 PM
Messages: 1244
Location:The Mitten State

I was wondering how to figure out if this is a good video card for the Sims Seasons. Thanks for any help.


AMD Radeon HD 7420G discrete-class graphics with up to 3053MB total graphics memory



Profile
butterfly61


Joined: 06/04/09 10:24 PM
Messages: 1244
Location:The Mitten State

Can anyone help? Thanks again.



Profile
bob007


Joined: 06/02/09 08:05 PM
Messages: 9807
Location:Chicago
Offline

That video chip is part of the Trinity class of APUs from AMD (A4-4300M). As with the Intel I series I think video on the same chip with the cpu is not a good idea for a gaming computer. Today's video computer chips are more complicated then the cpu chip. Both the cpu and gpu (video chip) generate a lot of heat when gaming graphical games. There have been several posts about APU processors having trouble with TS3.

Profile
butterfly61


Joined: 06/04/09 10:24 PM
Messages: 1244
Location:The Mitten State

Thanks for the help



Profile
RJOuttaSoCal


Joined: 01/26/12 09:53 AM
Messages: 555
Location:Bridgeport
Offline

7400 Series? I'd skip it. It won't work well with The Sims 3.
Profile
cooldiva


Joined: 11/11/09 03:38 AM
Messages: 278
Offline

geforce are the best ones
Profile
mustangmama


Joined: 11/19/09 02:17 PM
Messages: 279

butterfly61,

I have the amd radeon hd 7750 1gb.
Profile
butterfly61


Joined: 06/04/09 10:24 PM
Messages: 1244
Location:The Mitten State

Thanks everyone for the help. Now I am wondering if I should cancel this laptop order and start all over



Profile
butterfly61


Joined: 06/04/09 10:24 PM
Messages: 1244
Location:The Mitten State

mustangmama wrote:butterfly61,

I have the amd radeon hd 7750 1gb.


Does this card play the Sims well?



Profile
mustangmama


Joined: 11/19/09 02:17 PM
Messages: 279

butterfly61,
My computer came with the amd radeon hd 6450 1gb.I have all expansion/stuff packs installed and 1.65gb store content. I tried updating the other card but it still didn't help.
I upgraded to the amd radeon hd 7750 1gb.Was amazed at what I had been missing! I love it!
Of course everyone has their own opinions of graphics cards and I do agree that Nvdia cards are great,too!



Profile
butterfly61


Joined: 06/04/09 10:24 PM
Messages: 1244
Location:The Mitten State

My budget right now is not great, I looked at a few different laptops and my son thinks this is the best for what I can afford. So I will get it and hope for the best. Thanks everyone for all the help.



Profile
xifu


Joined: 10/29/10 10:36 PM
Messages: 265
Location:Everywhere and Nowhere
Offline

Before getting a laptop, keep in mind that laptops will always be less powerful than a desktops at the same price. This is important for gaming. If The Sims 3 is the only game you play, you might want to consider getting a nice budget gaming desktop since a budget level laptop will (most likely) not be able to run the game smoothly.

You might want to check out my post here:

http://forum.thesims3.com/jforum/posts/list/15/607439.page#9746
667


Cheers!

Custom PC:
Intel i7-2600 & DQ67SW
Diamond MM AMD Radeon HD 7870 GHz Edition
Kingston ValueRAM 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz
WD RE 500GB
Seasonic X Series 660W
Profile
Jennidot_101


Joined: 02/22/13 05:10 PM
Messages: 4
Offline

mustangmama wrote:butterfly61,

I have the amd radeon hd 7750 1gb.


I know you posted this about 2 years ago so I have NO idea if you even play still or with this graphics card but does it still work for you? People say this card is great but I don't notice any reduction in the lag of the game. Would you be able to help me out at all? Maybe you have your settings different with the graphics card than mine. I know you can play around with the output of the graphics card in the control panel (I have catalyst) but I am very much a newb to having a control panel with graphics cards so I have no idea where to start haha!
Profile
 
Forum Index » Technical Discussions (EN)
Go to: