Forums  
[line_separator]
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Hottest Topics] Hottest Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to forum index 
Sims 3 seasons holiday lights?  XML
Post Reply Forum Index » Seasons
Author Message
eemily0246


Joined: 03/18/12 01:06 PM
Messages: 18
Offline

Ok so I pre ordered the sims 3 seasons and got the game yesterday. I was really exited for winter and the lights and decorations, but I couldn't figure out how to put up the holiday house lights! I could put them up on other sims houses, except mine! I tried clicking on my front door as they said I should, but it just said "lock..." or "go home" and that was about it. I was so angry! I tried everything but couldn't figure it out!!!
Profile
eemily0246


Joined: 03/18/12 01:06 PM
Messages: 18
Offline

plus, my purchase history is down so I cant download the lce lounge!
Profile
cooldiva


Joined: 11/11/09 03:38 AM
Messages: 278
Offline

you need to click on the door and then lights
Profile
eemily0246


Joined: 03/18/12 01:06 PM
Messages: 18
Offline

i tried but the lights option wont show up
Profile
Mrysticat


Joined: 11/18/12 12:45 PM
Messages: 1
Offline

Move out from the house and up a floor (or more) until you can see the roof line. There should be icicle lights hanging from the eaves.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 11/18/12 12:47 PM

Profile
ewilson1114


Joined: 06/27/12 10:36 PM
Messages: 2178
Location:Texas
Offline

Are yout trying on a CC house or an EA house? When I first played I was using a CC house and the lights didnt show up as an option for me. I don't know if that happens with every cc house or if something was wrong with the one I was using.

Profile
KosmoKhaos


Joined: 07/05/11 07:23 PM
Messages: 19
Location:In the void between worlds
Offline

Actually this seems to be a fault on EA's part. I had this same problem and it turns out that houses with "flat and squared" rooftops cannot have holiday lighting. Lol sucks right? I bet if you were to click on a home with a traditional triangular rooftop (yes you can change your neighbor's lights too) you would have the option to hang them.

.?/l、
゙(゚、 。 7
_l、゙ ~ヽ
.じしf_, )ノ This is Kitty. Copy Kitty to your signature to help her achieve world domination
Profile
hallegrace7


Joined: 04/30/13 12:50 AM
Messages: 1
Offline

Make sure you are not inn pause mode. When I clicked on my front door the "Hand Holiday Lights..." button didn't show up and it showed up on my back door. I don't think there is a too early time. It just has to be in the season of winter. I hung mine on Sunday in the game and Thursday is Snowflake Day, or I guess, Christmas.
Profile
lisasc360


Joined: 01/16/11 03:58 PM
Messages: 3975
Location:In my own little world
Offline

hallegrace7 wrote:Make sure you are not inn pause mode. When I clicked on my front door the "Hand Holiday Lights..." button didn't show up and it showed up on my back door. I don't think there is a too early time. It just has to be in the season of winter. I hung mine on Sunday in the game and Thursday is Snowflake Day, or I guess, Christmas.


Welcome to the forums...

You do realize that this is from last year and I am sure that the person who posted this has already figured out how to put the lights up... You can also hang your lights up anytime of the year, it does not need to be winter. The lights will stay up all through the different seasons.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 04/30/13 01:01 AM


Bret Michaels concert 5/27/12
Profile
LottieLolz


Joined: 03/15/12 04:41 PM
Messages: 4
Offline

I just had to replace my roof to hang lights. It turns out flat roofs CANNOT hang lights :/ It now works!
Profile
lolzipops


Joined: 08/19/13 07:46 PM
Messages: 3
Offline

its really easy i had the same problem but it was because my house had a flat roof all you need to do to make it work if get a normal roof basically... hope it helped
Profile
shellbeme


Joined: 06/08/09 01:20 AM
Messages: 280
Offline

I also had this problem when I replaced what was the original 'front door'. It would not work for me until I chose another door to designate as the 'front door'.
Profile
lisasc360


Joined: 01/16/11 03:58 PM
Messages: 3975
Location:In my own little world
Offline

lolzipops wrote:its really easy i had the same problem but it was because my house had a flat roof all you need to do to make it work if get a normal roof basically... hope it helped


Hi and welcome to the forum...

I'm pretty sure that the OP finally got their answer since this thread was made last November. I'm pretty sure that the OP isn't still waiting on an answer...

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 10/19/13 09:11 PM


Bret Michaels concert 5/27/12
Profile
mysimsaddiction1


Joined: 10/30/13 08:56 PM
Messages: 1
Offline

I also had this problem I just switched the door and it worked
Profile
columbia93


Joined: 04/19/10 05:45 PM
Messages: 176
Offline

TO the person who keeps writing and chastizing anyone who continues to reply:

There are a lot of us having this issue and, while the OP may have figured it out, we are still looking for answers. If you Google "Sims 3 unable to hang holiday lights", this thread comes up so, if others want to add additional comments, please go about your business and refrain from contributing nothing.

As for me, I'm running a game wihtout CC and can't get the lights on my house. I don't have a flat roof and can get the option for other houses. My Sim moved houses but I used the same front door - a store item - so that might be my problem. I'll try a different door and hopefully that will work.
Profile
 
Post Reply Forum Index » Seasons
Go to: