Forums  
[line_separator]
  [Search] Search   [Recent Topics] Recent Topics   [Hottest Topics] Hottest Topics   [Members]  Member Listing   [Groups] Back to forum index 
Candyfornia  XML
Post Reply Forum Index » Katy Perry's Sweet Treats
Author Message
stormwench


Joined: 06/06/09 04:57 PM
Messages: 4293
Location:Pacific NW
Offline

My suggestion would be to wait for the release so that you can test, even if not add, the things coming with the SP, so you know you have your colors right and such. It would be upsetting to release now and find out that the colors did not work well together.

Also, worlds can have a lot if bumps in the roads, so to speak, so you probably could use the time for testing your roads and sidewalks and pathing, your empty lots for any glitches with putting houses or community lots in and such. You do want some at least empty default ones so people have lots to use when first starting the world and being asked to place special lots from other EPs. If empty commercial lots are not there people have to skip that and then remember which lots to place later.

It can be very frustration to get a world that there is not enough 'straight' pathing for placing lots, broken pathing so sims cannot walk or drive to where they need to go and so on. Also need to test for areas where sims - NPC's specifically - could get stuck like dead ends. Testing and quality control often takes twice as long as building does. Some of the best worlds I have used had little building done but a lot of testing and the greatest looking ones have had glitches because testing was not thorough enough. I know several great world builders that have had to make several versions of their worlds to get all the glitches out so its obvious to be easy to have problems no matter how experienced you are.



Profile
steff0128


Joined: 06/18/11 12:01 AM
Messages: 82
Location:Roaring Heights
Offline

stormwench wrote:My suggestion would be to wait for the release so that you can test, even if not add, the things coming with the SP, so you know you have your colors right and such. It would be upsetting to release now and find out that the colors did not work well together.

Also, worlds can have a lot if bumps in the roads, so to speak, so you probably could use the time for testing your roads and sidewalks and pathing, your empty lots for any glitches with putting houses or community lots in and such. You do want some at least empty default ones so people have lots to use when first starting the world and being asked to place special lots from other EPs. If empty commercial lots are not there people have to skip that and then remember which lots to place later.

It can be very frustration to get a world that there is not enough 'straight' pathing for placing lots, broken pathing so sims cannot walk or drive to where they need to go and so on. Also need to test for areas where sims - NPC's specifically - could get stuck like dead ends. Testing and quality control often takes twice as long as building does. Some of the best worlds I have used had little building done but a lot of testing and the greatest looking ones have had glitches because testing was not thorough enough. I know several great world builders that have had to make several versions of their worlds to get all the glitches out so its obvious to be easy to have problems no matter how experienced you are.

wow!! i will do a few testers on my world again to make sure that i have everything right thanks again for the heads up this time!!
Profile
steff0128


Joined: 06/18/11 12:01 AM
Messages: 82
Location:Roaring Heights
Offline

no one else D':
Profile
Rflong7


Joined: 06/01/09 01:51 AM
Messages: 24879
Location:In Shadow Mode C8

Hi,

I can look at your CAW files of the world. Check out your routing, roads, paints or what nots. If you want.

Profile
steff0128


Joined: 06/18/11 12:01 AM
Messages: 82
Location:Roaring Heights
Offline

Rflong7 wrote:Hi,

I can look at your CAW files of the world. Check out your routing, roads, paints or what nots. If you want.

sure but how :S i'm new to all this
Profile
Rflong7


Joined: 06/01/09 01:51 AM
Messages: 24879
Location:In Shadow Mode C8

steff0128 wrote:
Rflong7 wrote:Hi,

I can look at your CAW files of the world. Check out your routing, roads, paints or what nots. If you want.

sure but how :S i'm new to all this



You would have to package (compress) your latest _Bkp folder (it's dated and timed so you know which one is the newest save in Documents/Electronic Arts/The Sims 3 Create a World Tool Beta/UserToolData/Worlds) with winrar or 7zip and upload it to a 3rd party hosting site- such as Mediafire (doesn't require membership to downloaders) and then link me. I can then download it and check it out.

Profile
steff0128


Joined: 06/18/11 12:01 AM
Messages: 82
Location:Roaring Heights
Offline

Profile
Rflong7


Joined: 06/01/09 01:51 AM
Messages: 24879
Location:In Shadow Mode C8

Okay- I got it.

Profile
steff0128


Joined: 06/18/11 12:01 AM
Messages: 82
Location:Roaring Heights
Offline

Rflong7 wrote:Okay- I got it.

kk thank you for your help! <3
Profile
Rflong7


Joined: 06/01/09 01:51 AM
Messages: 24879
Location:In Shadow Mode C8

Hi,

Well, there's a few of things you need to fix before testing.

1. Roads pieces must be connected to intersections- not intersections on top of road sections.

2. Lots can not be over roads. It will mess up the routing and the world.

3. If you turn on the Grid- on the Control Panel- you can line up the roads as you place them to keep them straight.
- Placing the roads straight with the grid lets you place the lots straight- along the lines and road.

4. Routing paint-
A. You don't need Camera Non Routable paint on a small map. It's too small to try and keep the camera out because it can move outside the island, in the water. This can trap the camera and mess up a player trying to get back.

B. If you use the Sim Non Routable paint along the mountains, you must cover the whole mountain past where they can not go. Leaving this whole will cause routing problems for Sims/pets/animals. They will want to go there- even if there isn't a reason to go there.

C. Sim Non Routable paint is to keep Sims from going places- like the sides of mountains where it would look funny.

5. You didn't finish the edges of the world. People will be able to see along the sides. It's a small map, the camera can go all around it.

6. I really don't think it's good to have the mood setting at 100. I know I did this with my first world. But it's just not good when they leave the lot and see the Sim really isn't in such a good mood.

7. You haven't added any spawners yet- to test the world you should have them. Making sure they're reachable and not too many.

8. Lot sizes. Well, you can make them any odd size but since you plan to share, I think it best to stick to the standard sizes, even if EA doesn't -

20x20
20x30
25x25
30x30
30x40
40x40
50x50
60x60
64x64
And any combination of those.
Not best to use 17x31 or 24x32 and such. But this might not be a big deal.

9. It's really not good to place Career buildings on lots with the moveobjects code if most of the building is hanging off the lot. While you're at the building stage you can make the lot larger.

*10. You need addresses (in Property Browser) and lot names (in EIG).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 05/03/12 03:30 PM


Profile
Rflong7


Joined: 06/01/09 01:51 AM
Messages: 24879
Location:In Shadow Mode C8

Well, I can't always help it. I touched up your world if you want it.

The lots still need addresses- in the Property browser box. This has only Base game items and spawners.

If you want it I'll upload it to Mediafire and you can re-add your lots. (Because I don't have all the packs installed right now )

*

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 05/03/12 11:29 PM


Profile
steff0128


Joined: 06/18/11 12:01 AM
Messages: 82
Location:Roaring Heights
Offline

Rflong7 wrote:Well, I can't always help it. I touched up your world if you want it.

The lots still need addresses- in the Property browser box. This has only Base game items and spawners.

If you want it I'll upload it to Mediafire and you can re-add your lots. (Because I don't have all the packs installed right now )

*

wow thanks i really couldnt do those stuff now cause i have skool so thanks
Profile
Rflong7


Joined: 06/01/09 01:51 AM
Messages: 24879
Location:In Shadow Mode C8

Okay.

Make sure to give Names to the lots you place in EIG so it shows up on the neighborhood tags.

....


This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 05/04/12 02:04 AM


Profile
steff0128


Joined: 06/18/11 12:01 AM
Messages: 82
Location:Roaring Heights
Offline

Rflong7 wrote:Okay.

Make sure to give Names to the lots you place in EIG so it shows up on the neighborhood tags.

.............


ok thank you!!!!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 05/04/12 03:05 AM

Profile
steff0128


Joined: 06/18/11 12:01 AM
Messages: 82
Location:Roaring Heights
Offline

Rflong7:

omg i now wnt in the world and you are like THEE!!! 100% coolest it looks totally awesomeee!!! u like redid the whole thing my jaw dropped litterly!! XD and i think i will leave it green in the middle its sooo swesome!!!
Profile
 
Post Reply Forum Index » Katy Perry's Sweet Treats
Go to: